Champions for Kids

2017 FISD School Board Trustees: 
(Back row) Laura Seifert, Robert McCabe, Matt Robinson, Ralph Hobratschk,
(Front row) Secretary David Montz, President Rebecca Hillenburg, and Vice President Tony Hopkins


boarddec16January is School Board Recognition Month and Friendswood ISD will join other districts across the state to thank these local leaders for their dedication and willingness to serve as advocates for our children and public schools.

“Even though we are making a special effort in January to show appreciation to our board members, we realize their many contributions reflect a year-round commitment. They generously give of themselves to ensure that decisions directly affecting our local schools are made by representatives of this community, people who are close to our schools and know our teachers, parents, and students,” Superintendent Trish Hanks, said.

“Board members shoulder critical responsibilities and often make difficult choices. Their ultimate goal is always focused on the future success of the children in our district,” Hanks said. “It’s more important than ever before that the public supports our schools so that today’s students are prepared to be productive citizens and the leaders of tomorrow. Our board members provide vision and leadership in their roles as advocates, and they will continue to stand up for public education and guard against anything that takes away from our children,” she said.

To highlight the celebration, the seven trustees will be “adopted” by a campus in the district. Each year the location rotates for each member. During the month it is not unusual for visitors to campuses see a board member at lunch or in a classroom, lab or special program. The campus invites the members to all events of interest to showcases what students are accomplishing.

A small token of appreciation will also be given to board members by the principals and executive directors at the January 9 board meeting.

Current Friendswood ISD Board members include President Rebecca Hillenburg, former junior high principal and teacher in FISD; Vice President Tony Hopkins is a partner with Arroyo Energy Investment Partners; Secretary Dr. David Montz, D.D.S., and members Dr. Matt Robinson, urologist; Robert McCabe, attorney and mediator at Thompson, Coe, Cousins and Irons LLP in Houston; Rev. Ralph Hobratschk, senior pastor of Hope Lutheran Church; and Laura Seifert, founder of YES. Ministries, a discipleship ministry in Houston.
“Our district benefits from the tireless work and countless hours contributed by these local citizens who work without pay. Serving as a crucial link between the community and classroom, this board is responsible for an annual budget of $59 million, 6,100 students, 800 employees, and 6 campuses. Please help us thank these dedicated volunteers for their efforts to make a difference and their unfailing commitment to the continued success of our students now and in the future,” she said.