FISD End of Year Service Celebration

As Friendswood ISD looks back over its successful year in academics and 6A athletic programs, teachers and staff need standing ovations for exemplary work, making a difference every day.
June 4 was the annual FISD End of the Year Luncheon honoring Teachers of the Year, staff service in the district and retirement.

Teachers of the Year were presented silver apples with their name, campus
and honor. Directors on the Friendswood ISD Education Foundation presented each of the six teachers $500 in honor of their title.

Kathy Powdrell is the Teacher of the Year for Friendswood High School. She
is the Theatre Arts teacher and has been in the district for 24 years.

Jenny Dixon is the Friendswood Junior High Teacher of the Year. She has

taught science at FJH for five years.

Sharon Dixon is Teacher of the Year at Bales and has taught 4-5 grade

reading/language arts, social studies and science for 14 years in FISD.

Wendy McAshlan is the Windsong Intermediate Reading/Dyslexia

Interventionist. She has been in FISD for eight years.

Sandy Martin is the Teacher of the Year at Westwood and has taught

Kindergarten for three years.

Caroline Johnson is the Teacher of the Year for Cline Elementary. She is a

Kindergarten teacher and has been at Cline for two years.

Powdrell and Johnson are the secondary and elementary Teachers of the

Year who will advance to the next level of competition at Region IV Service Center.

At the luncheon, service pins/charms were given to those in the district
whose years are divisible by fives. FHS teacher Renae Simons received a pin for 40 years of service. FJH’s Peggy Kleven received a 35 year pin.

Thirty year recipients included Superintendent Trish Hanks, Betsy Epps(Bales), Teresa Antonini and Jan Lane (Cline), FHS Principal Mark Griffon, Susan Brisbay (Windsong), Custodian Petra Gonzalez and Elaine Diamond in Food Services.

Twenty-five year service recognition was given to Cathey Allen(Bales), Margo Hoskins (Cline), Dorothy Keichler (Transportation), Teresa Waltenbaugh (Westwood), and FHS recipients Teresa Byrd, Karen Hillier, Eric LeBlanc, and Cheryl Staff receiving 20 year pins included Jolly Ayrhart and Diane Myers (Admin), Phyllis Bludworth and Christine Lyles (Cline), Patti Kaufman and Kevin Parr (FHS), Stephanie Meyer (FJH), Jillene Singo (Food Services), Jody Blessitt, Kelli Campbell, and Paula Hughes (Westwood), and Marcelino Montecillo and Donald Pfund (Maintenance).

Pins/charms were also given to 24 staff members who reached 15 years of
service, 23 for 10 years and 29 for 5 years.

Happy Retirement to the following staff: Teresa Antonini (Cline-30 years), Carmen Bateman (FJH-9 years), Jody Blessitt (Westwood-20 years), Leanna Bridgett (Community Ed-26 years), Carol Collins (FJH-24), Gricelda Damico (Cline-15), Betsy Epps (Westwood-Bales-30), Karolyn Gephart (Admin-17), Dianne Hagerman (FHS-7), Lori Harvey (FHS-19), Paula Jones (FJH-18), Tammy Kaufhold (Westwood-Bales-27), Paula Kelly (FJH-23), Karen Myers (Admin-31), Susan McGraw (Transportation-12), Madelyn Ross (FJH-34), Judy Sanders (Print Shop-26), Cheryl Sauls (FJH-8), Barb Steinhauser (lead-nurse-21), Charlie Taylor (FHS-27), Mary Taylor (Admin-22), Janet Townsend (FHS-9), and Sherry Tucker (Spec Ed-22).

A wonderful summer to all in Friendswood ISD!