Forensics advancing to UIL State Meet, has successful season

The Friendswood High School Forensics team of Nicole Bluth and Madelyn

Warren won second place at the UIL Speech Meet and will advance to the UIL State

meet in March.

This year has been a total rebuilding year for the Friendswood High School

Forensics Program and the competition in the new 6A district is very tough, according

to Coach Cheryl Ryne.

“All six debaters on the team contributed to our success,” Ryne said.

UIL CX Debaters include Zach Appel, Tyler Carrette, Kelsey Ehrig, Libby

Hejtmancik, Bluth and Warren.

At the recent Texas City Tournament, FHS Forensics team finished third Grand

Sweepstakes out of 34 schools. Individual winners included the following:

Natasha Wroblewski–2nd place Domestic Extemp, 2nd place Impromtu and 3rd place

Prose reading; Katherine Harclerode–2nd place Oration; Zach Appel–8th place

Domestic Extemp; and Tyler Carrette–3rd place Impromptul.

At the Clear Creek Tournament, the FHS Forensics team placed 5th out of 31

schools in Grand Sweepstakes. Individual winners were included the following: Walton-

Gray Martin–1st place Foreign Extemp and 2nd place Impromptu; Natasha Wroblewski–

2nd place Domestic

Madelyn Warren–4th place Domestic Extemp; Natasha Wroblewski & Madelyn Warren-

-3rd place in Public Forum Debate; Sariah Fischer–1st place Novice Extemp; Kendall

Carpenter–2nd place Novice Extemp;

Monica Spielman 5th place Novice Extemp & 6th place Novice Poetry; Walton-Gray

Martin–finalist Impromptu; Matthew Skinner–finalist Impromptu; Sariah Fischer–1st

place Novice Extemp; Kelsey Ehrig–3rd place Novice Extemp; and

Cold Muske–5th place Novice Extemp.

FHS Forensics team came in third in Grand Sweepstakes out of 26 schools at a

recent Clear Brook Tournament. Individual winners included the following:

Foreign Extemp–1st Charles Yeager, 2nd Walton-Gray Martin and 3rd Nathan Riser;

Domestic Extemp–1st Madelyn Warren, 2nd Matthew Skinner and 4th Nicole Bluth;

Novice Extemp–1st Justin Dorrell, 3rd Sariah Fischer 4th Ashley Cao, 5th Kendall

Carpenter and 6th Libby Naaykens; Senior Impromtu–4th Zach Appel; Novice

Impromtu–7th Nikita Gupta; Congressional Debate–2nd Madelyn Warren and 8th

Katherine Harclerode; Varsity Lincoln Douglas Debate–3rd Nathan Riser, 3rd place

Outstanding VLD Speaker–Nathan Riser; Novice Public Forum Debate–1st Nikita

Gupta & Justin Dorrell, 3rd place Outstanding Novice PF Debate Speaker–Nikita Gubta;

Novice Lincoln Douglas Debate–3rd place Sariah Fischer; and 1st place NLD Speaker-

Devin Sarro.

At the South Houston High School Tournament, Friendswood Forensics had a

great meet and won 3rd place Grand Sweepstakes. Individual winners include the

following: Madelyn Warren – 3rd place Congressional Debate & 3rd place Impromptu;

Zach Appel – 2nd place Domestic Extemp and 3rd place CLD Speaker; Walton-Gray

Martin – 3rd place CLD Debate and 4th place Foreign Extemp; Matthew Skinner – 4th

place Domestic Extemp; Libby Naaykens and Kelsey Ehrig – 2nd place Novice CX

Debate; Sariah Fischer – 1st place Novice LD Debate, 1st place NLD Speaker and 4th

place Novice Extemp; Kendall Carpenter – 2nd place Novice Oration and 5th place

Novice Extemp; and Devin Sarro – 3rd place NLD Speaker.

At Clear Lake High School tournament, individual winners from FHS include the

following: Charles Yeager–2nd place Foreign Extemp; Nikita Gupta–1st place

Impromptu; Walton-Gray Martin–2nd place Impromptu; Nikita Gupta and Devin Sarro

tied for 1st place Novice LD Debate; Kelsey Ehrig and Libby Naykeens–2nd place

Novice CX Debate; Matthew Skinner–3rd place Championship LD Speaker and Devin

Sarro–2nd place Novice LD Speaker.

The Friendswood Forensics program at Friendswood High School has been built

on a long tradition of excellence, the talent and hard work of its members and the support

and encouragement of the Administration of Friendswood High School and FISD.

“We are happy to boast numerous National Champions and Medalists, National

Forensic League All Americans, National Tournament Qualifiers, UIL State Champions

and Medalists and Texas Forensic Association Champions & Medalists,” Ryne said.