Friendswood has 11 National Merit Scholarship Finalists

Eleven Friendswood High School Seniors have been named “Finalists” in the 2014 competition for National Merit Scholarships (NMS). The entry pool began with 1.5 million students taking the PSAT/NMSQT.

The students are: Annie S. Chen, Michael E. Fowler III, Derek A. Janak, Noelle Marie Kutz, Caroline Q. Landon, Jamie C. McCullough, Andrew D. Porter, Kristen H. Ryan, Matthew Taylor Stamy, Nathan Y. Tat and Nathaniel F. Williams.

“I know the Friendswood High School faculty joins me in congratulating these outstanding students. It takes hard work and dedication to reach the academic goals we set for all students. Reaching this level on a national playing field is even more exceptional and speaks to the tradition of excellence at FHS,” said Principal Mark Griffon.

NMS Award winners will be chosen from the Finalist group, based on their abilities, skills and accomplishments, without regard to gender, race, ethnic origin, or religious preference. NMS selectors evaluate the Finalist’s academic record, information about the school’s curricula and grading system, two sets of test scores, the high school official’s written recommendation, information about the student’s activities and leadership and the Finalist’s own essay.

“In Friendswood, high achievement has become expected, but we should never take it for granted. Each of these students deserves to be recognized for going to the Finalist level and we wish all 11 of them the best in advancing to become scholarship award winners,” said FISD Superintendent Trish Hanks.

Texas has approximately 1,279 Finalists out of the 8,000 total. Beginning in March, they will be notified if they have been selected to receive a Merit Scholarship award. Merit Scholarship awards are of three types: National Merit $2,500 Scholarships, Corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards and College-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards.

The FHS students who made it to Finalist will be recognized during the May 22 Honors Night at the school.