Galveston County Science Fair

The annual Galveston County Science and Engineering Fair was held on Saturday, February 8, 2014 on the campus of Texas A&M University at Galveston. From Friendswood High School, 22 students participated and many earned awards for their outstanding projects. The event was sponsored by Galveston College, Texas A&M University at Galveston and the University of Texas Medical Branch.

In the show, 90 judges spent their Saturday interacting with the young scientists. Division winners won prizes as listed: 1st place- Trophy + $50, 2nd place- Trophy + $20,3rd place- Trophy + $10. Grand Award winners won prizes as listed below. Students from several other local high schools participated including OdysseyAcademy, Ball High School, and Dickinson High School.
Many student programs are available through UTMB for high school students to enhance their knowledgeof science. More information may be found at:
Friendswood High School students will compete in the Science and Engineering Fair of Houston onThursday, February 20 at the George R. Brown Convention Center. Awards for SEFH will be given on Saturday, February 22 at the Cullen Performance Hall on the Uof H campus.

Go to the link for SEFH to get more information about the fair:

In the 9th GradeDivision, Gautam Rangappa placed first in Biochemistry/ Microbiology  with The Effects of MicrowaveRadiation. Crystal Chacko placed first in Earth/Space Sciences with Fingerprint of Deuterium and Sarah Palmer placed first in Engineering with Watts in the Wind/Water II. Thomas Nagle placed first in Mathematics with Fishing OutFractals.  Maddie Thompson placedfirst in Medicine/Health with Biggest Gainer (Effect of Processed Food on BodyWeight). Zachary Kunkel placed first in Physics and Astronomy with Dropping G’s.
Freshman Joshua Gruener received third place in Engineering with In Trusses We Trust.
In the Senior Division Category Award Winners, 5 sophomore, 6 juniors and 3 seniors received awards.
Sophomores include Avery Chahl with first in Behavioral /Social Sciences with SleeplessNights, Erin Janak in second place with Behavioral/Social Sciences with ListenUp: A Study of the Cocktail Party Effect, Neha Narayan with first place inBiochemistry/Microbiology with Heavenly Hash Hastens Healing, Dana Royall withsecond place in Biochemistry/Microbiology with Fever Fuel, and JaclynnTurnbaugh in second place in Environmental Science with Rain, Rain Go Away.
Juniors include Karan Jerath placed first with Environmental Science with Perils of theDeep Sea, Taylor Cubbage in first with Earth/Space Sciences with Fossils in OurOwn Backyard and Sarah Maiwith Honorable mention in Environmental Science withEffects of Fertilizers on Alcanivorax bokumensis, Shanika Silva in first placein Mathematics with Genetic Forecast 2, Aditya Mohile in second place inPhysics and Astronomy with Technology with Zero Resistance, and Nadia Poslusznyin third place in Physics and Astronomy with Sound Damening..

Three seniors include Roma Pradhan in first place with Computer Science in Train the Artificial Brain II: Computer Aided Diagnosis and Treatment Plan of Alzheimer’sDisease Using Neural Networks, Jamie McCullough in first place in Physics and Astronomy with Harnessing Fire and Daniel Bellian with Honorable Mention in Physics and Astronomy in Magnetic Amplification of a TEA laser.

In Special Awards, Roma Pradhan received first place in the Computer Science category and also received the Dr. Allan and Anne Brasier Award given in memory of their sonRob Brasier. The award is given to recognize outstanding achievement inscience. Roma received a certificate and a $200 cash award.

Karan Jerath received an award through the Shell-Texas Regional Collaborative Partnership which included a plaque and $150 cash prize.

Grand Award Winners included four 9th grade Division Overall Winners and five Senior Division Overall Winners.

In 9th Grade Division Overall winners, Sarah Palmer received first place with a plaque and $50, Thomas Nagle in second place with a plaque and $30, Zachary Kunkel in fifth place with a certificate, and Gautam Rangappa with Honorable Mention and a certificate.

In Senior Division, Aditya Mohile received a plaque,$150 Sigma Xi award and $100 Galveston Tourism Council award and Senior Division first place.

Jamie McCullough received a plaque, $50 and second place.

Shanika Silva received a plaque, $30 and third place.

Roma Pradhan received a fourth place with a certificate and Erin Janak in fifth place received acertificate.