FHS Students Win Awards at the Galveston County Science and Engineering Fair

danAcademic News at FHS, High School News

ScienceFairContestantsThe annual Galveston County Science and Engineering Fair was held on Saturday, February 8, 2014 on the campus of Texas A&M University at Galveston. Twenty-two Friendswood High School students participated and many earned awards for their outstanding projects. The event was sponsored by Galveston College, Texas A&M University at Galveston and the University of Texas Medical Branch.

Thank you to the many supporters of this fair which made the event and the awards possible. Thank you also to the ninety judges who spent their Saturday interacting with the young scientists. Division winners won prizes as listed: 1st place- Trophy + $50, 2nd place- Trophy + $20, 3rd place- Trophy + $10. Grand Award winners won prizes as listed below. Students from several other local high schools participated including Odyssey Academy, Ball High School, and Dickinson High School.

Many student programs are available through UTMB for high school students to enhance their knowledge of science. More information may be found at: http://www.utmb.edu/oeo/student_programs.asp.

Friendswood High School students will compete in the Science and Engineering Fair of Houston on Thursday, February 20 at the George R. Brown Convention Center. Awards for SEFH will be given on Saturday, February 22 at the Cullen Performance Hall on the U of H campus.

Go to the link for SEFH to get more information about the fair: http://www.sefhouston.org/directions-schedule

Grade-Student Name–Award-Category-Title of Project
9th Grade Division
-9-Gautam Rangappa -1st place-Biochemistry/Microbiology-The Effects of Microwave Radiation
-9-Crystal Chacko-1st place-Earth/Space Sciences-Fingerprint of Deuterium
-9-Sarah Palmer-1st place-Engineering-Watts in the Wind/Water II
-9-Joshua Gruener-3rd place-Engineering-In Trusses We Trust
-9-Thomas Nagle-1st place-Mathematics-Fishing Out Fractals
-9-Maddie Thompson-1st place-Medicine/Health-Biggest Gainer (Effect of Processed Food on Body Weight)
-9-Zachary Kunkel-1st place-Physics and Astronomy-Dropping G’s

Senior Division Category Award Winners
-10-Avery Chahl-1st place-Behavioral/Social Sciences-Sleepless Nights
-10-Erin Janak-2nd place-Behavioral/Social Sciences-Listen Up: A Study of the Cocktail Party Effect
-10-Neha Narayan -1st place-Biochemistry/Microbiology-Heavenly Hash Hastens Healing
-10-Dana Royall-2nd place-Biochemistry/Microbiology-fever fuel
-12-Roma Pradhan-1st place-Computer Science-Train the Artificial Brain II: Computer-Aided Diagnosis and Treatment Plan of Alzheimer’s Disease using Neural Networks
-11-Karan Jerath-1st place-Environmental Science-Perils of the Deep Sea
-10-Jaclynn  Turnbaugh -2nd place-Environmental Science-Rain, Rain Go Away
-11-Taylor Cubbage-1st place-Earth/Space Sciences-Fossils in our own backyard
-11-Sarah Mai-Honorable Mention-Environmental Science-Effects of Fertilizers on Alcanivorax borkumensis
-11-Shanika Silva-1st place-Mathematics-Genetic Forecast 2!
-12-Jamie McCullough-1st place-Physics and Astronomy-Harnessing the Fire
-11-Aditya Mohile-2nd place-Physics and Astronomy-Technology with Zero Resistance
-11-Nadia Posluszny-3rd place-Physics and Astronomy-Sound Dampening
-12-Daniel Bellian-Honorable Mention-Physics and Astronomy-Magnetic Amplification of a TEA Laser

Special Awards:
Roma Pradhan received 1st place in the Computer Science category and also received the Dr. Allan and Anne Brasier Award given in memory of their son Rob Brasier. The award is given to recognize outstanding achievement in science. Roma received a certificate and a $200 cash award. Karan Jerath received an award through the Shell-Texas Regional Collaborative Partnership which included a plaque and $150 cash prize.

Grand Award Winners:
9th Grade Division Overall Winners:
Sarah Palmer-Plaque + $50- -1st place
Thomas Nagle-Plaque + $30–2nd place
Zachary Kunkel-Certificate–5th place
Gautam Rangappa-Certificate–Honorable Mention

Senior Division Overall Winners:
Aditya Mohile-Plaque + $150 Sigma Xi award + $100 Galveston Tourism Council award-Senior Divison-1st place
Jamie McCullough-Plaque + $50–2nd place
Shanika Silva-Plaque + $30–3rd place
Roma Pradhan-Certificate–4th place
Erin Janak-Certificate–5th place