Science and Engineering Fair of Houston Award Winner

danAcademic News at FHS, High School News

Twenty Friendswood High School students competed in the 56th annual Science and Engineering Fair of Houston held at the University of Houston on February 28.

9th Grade Division Place Awards:

3rd Computer Science: Jaden Walker- “Cold Computation”

Senior Division Place Awards:

1st Computer Science: Aditya Mohile- ”Computer-Aided Oral Cancer Diagnosis”
1st Earth & Planetary Science: Joshua Gruener- “Impact Craters: What’s your angle?”
3rd Earth & Planetary Science: Crystal Chacko- “13C Signature in Emission”
2nd Energy & Transportation: Karan Jerath-”The Numerical Simulation of an In-Situ Subsea Separator Part II”
1st Engineering Electrical & Mechanical: Sarah Palmer- “Watts in the Wind/Water III”
1st Mathematics: Shanika Silva- “Where Should I Put My Eggs? Mathematical Model to Predict Market Correlation Based On Differences in Macroeconomic Variables”
HM Mathematics: Thomas Nagle-”Finding Fractal Frequencies For Phones”
2nd Microbiology: Neha Narayan-”Effect of n3 PUFA (DHA) against Colonic Infection in Diabetes Mellitus”
1st Plant Sciences: Mackinnon Westerfeld-”Green Roof Revolution”
2nd Plant Sciences: Kevin Westerfeld-”Soaking It Up Plant Style”
1st and 2nd place Senior Division Place award winners advance to the Exxon-Mobil Texas Science and Engineering Fair to be held  March 27- March 29 in San Antonio.

Special Award Winners:

Joshua Gruener: Houston Museum of Natural Science Internship finalist, Houston Astronomical Society; National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Karan Jerath: American Society of Black Engineers, American Society for Quality- Greater Houston Section 1405; Houston Museum of Natural Science Internship finalist ; Houston Intellectual Property Law Association; John M Dilorio Award; Society of Plastic Engineers- South Texas Section, International Society of Petroleum Engineers

Aditya Mohile: Consumer Energy Alliance, Houston Museum of Natural Science finalist Internship, Gulf Coast American Industrial Hygiene Association, Intel Excellence in Computer Science, UH Creative Excellence Award

Thomas Nagle: Houston Museum of Natural Science Internship finalist 

Neha Narayan: The Health Museum

Sarah Palmer: Consumer Energy Alliance; John M Dilorio Award

Shanika Silva: Consumer Energy Alliance; Society of Women Engineers, Houston Chapter 

Madeleine Thompson: Houston Museum of Natural Science Internship finalist 

Elizabeth Westerfeld: Houston Museum of Natural Science Internship finalist 

Kevin Westerfeld: Society of Plastic Engineers, South Texas Section; UH Creative Excellence Award

 Yugi Xu: John M Dilorio Award

Many of these awards came with prizes and/or cash.

Congratulations to all of the participants for their hard work.  Thank you to the Friendswood High School science department for their outstanding mentorship of our students.  Thank you to the following people who spent time as chaperones at the event:  Alexandra Bahadori, Dawne Welch, Theresa Lawrence, Tim Lawrence,  Andrea Davidson, and Don McGowan.

Rebecca Clark
FHS Science Fair Coordinator