FHS CyberPatriot Teams place at State Competition

WebmasterAcademic News at FHS, CTE News, High School News

Three of FHS’ CyberPatriot teams placed in the Virtual State meet held on January 20, 2018 in the Computer Science Computer Lab. These students qualified to participate in the Virtual National Regional Competition.

2nd place team in the State:
Austin Pitts
Cameron Brunt
Mark Del Valle
Oliver Olsen
Noah Geno

4th place team in the State:
Edwin Daniel
Cristian Alvarez-Hernandez
Ben Kuo
Nick Ess
Alec Perry

6th place team in the State:
Jaden Walker
Aaron Walker
Pardis Zohari
Kendal Wiggins
Dante Terminella

Cyber Patriot is the National Youth Cyber Education Program sponsored by the Air Force. This competition puts teams of high school students in a position of newly hired IT professionals tasked with managing the network of a small company. In the rounds of competition, teams are given a set of virtual images that represent operating systems and are tasked with finding cybersecurity vulnerabilities within the images and “hardening” the system (i.e., getting rid of potential threats to a computer system therefore getting rid of potential hackers) while maintaining critical services in a six hour period.

This is an excellent competition for students to participate in since it is a “real world” experience. It was a great learning experience for all of them. The teams were able to collaborate with each other within their own teams while experiencing threats that could potentially attack their own computer systems. They had to figure out how to alleviate those threats to make the computer system more viable. Teams were in competition with each other, so there was no sharing of knowledge between teams.

“I am very proud of these students since this was the inaugural year of participating in this particular competition. The students had a vague idea of what to expect when we went through a practice round, but did not expect to learn so much real world experiences throughout the competitions,” quoted Sponsor Annette Walter.