FHS Band does well in District/Region Band Auditions

WebmasterFine Arts News, High School News

1st Row L-R
Madalyn Gray, Priya Juarez, Chumeng Cai, Faith Perry, Sabrina Chen, Laura Genzer, Nicole Litzinger, Sia Ramchandran, Kayla Huhn, Becky Brown, Emily Hernandez, Caroline Bizarro, Casey Dinh, Allison Wyrick, Katherine Ratliff

2nd Row L-R
Austin Pitts, Jason Thomas, Brandon Medearis, Emma Ritzberger, Shannon McGill, Price Moran, Caleb Sperry, Emma Ryan, Sooin Lim, Faith Powell, Allie Hansen, Reagan Greny, Lauren Andrews, Harmony Fries, Jenna Tuggle, Nicole Huning

3rd Row L-R
Jacob Wall, Justin Ouyang, Eric Li, Connor Gibson, Connor Thurman, Brandon Pisell, Mitchell Litvinov, Chris Keeble, Jaxson Rives, Andrew Zehrer, Alex Mata, Daniel Nagle, Joel Estes, Nick Polak, Bailey Cloyd, Evan Stepczyk

The Friendswood High School Band participated in TMEA District and Region Band Auditions at Alvin High School on Dec. 8, 14 and 15. Approximately 130 FHS students were given the chance to perform audition music they had been practicing since August. The Mustangs competed against other 5A and 6A bands.

The FHS Band had 57 students make the All-District Band. Of those, 43 students earned All-Region Band honors. Of those, 24 students will advance to the Area Audition where they will audition for the All-State Band on Jan. 12.

The following students earned All-District Honors: JC Chahal, Nicole Litzinger and Jenna Tuggle on Bb clarinet; Brandon Pisell and Matteo Sharp on alto sax; Faith Powell on horn; Joel Estes, , Dawson Miller and Aaron Walker on trombone; Chris Keeble on euphonium; Thomas McKnight on tuba; Audrey Weakly on oboe; Madalyn Gray and Sia Ramchandran on bass clarinet; and Emma Ryan on bass trombone.

The following students earned All-District and All-Region Honors: Lauren Andrews and Harmony Fries on flute; Blake Carlisle, Sabrina Chen, Laura Genzer and Emma Ritzberger on Bb clarinet; Justin Ouyang and Caleb Sperry on alto sax; Adam Boehnke, Becky Brown and Evan Stepczyk on trumpet; Kayla Huhn on horn; Chumeng Cai on trombone; Jason Thomas on percussion; Allison Wyrick on oboe; Priya Juarez on bass clarinet; and Nicole Huning and Andrew Zehrer on bassoon.

The following students earned All-District, All-Region and Area Honors: Reagan Greny and Sooin Lim on flute; Bailey Cloyd, Connor Gibson, Eric Li, Brandon Medearis, Price Moran and Nicholas Polak on Bb clarinet; Shannon McGill on alto sax; Emily Hernandez and Connor Thurman on trumpet; Alex Mata, Ketherine Ratliff, , Katie Smith and Jacob Wall on horn; Alex Lau on tuba; Jaxson Rives on percussion; Casey Dinh on piccolo; Caroline Bizzaro on oboe; Allie Hansen on English horn; Faith Perry on Eb clarinet; Daniel Nagle on bassoon; Mitchell Litvinov on tenor saxophone; and Emma Ryan on bass trombone.

Greg Dick, Head Band Director, Doug Grice and Julio Sanchez, Assistant Band Directors