Rolling-DiceGuys and Dolls is a musical with music and lyrics by Frank Loesser and book by Jo Swerling and Abe Burrows. It is based on “The Idyll of Miss Sarah Brown” and “Blood Pressure” – two short stories by Damon Runyon.

Act 1 – Runyonland, Fugue for Tinhorns, Follow the Fold, The Oldest Established, I’ll Know, A Bushel and a Peck, Adelaide’s Lament, Adelaide Meets Sara, Guys and Dolls, Havana, If I Were a Bell, My Time of Day

Act 2 – I’ve Never Been in Love Before, Take Back Your Mink, More I Cannot Wish You, The Crapshooters’ Dance, Luck Be a Lady, Sue Me, Sit Down, You’re Rockin’ the Boat, Marry the Man Today

Inspired by Damon Runyon’s tales of the NYC gambling scene,is the story of love, money, and salvation in New York City. The plot begins as gambler Nathan Detroit, accompanied by his cohorts Nicely-Nicely Johnson and Benny Southstreet, is unable to find a location in which to hold his floating crap game. He needs to secure $1000 with which he can bribe for himself a place for the game. So, he makes a bet with successful gambler Sky Masterson that Sky cannot take Sarah Brown (a sergeant at the Save-a-Soul Mission) to Havana for a day. Not only does Sky try to take Sarah to Havana, but also tries to win her heart. Meanwhile, Nathan has romantic troubles of his own. He constantly attempts to stay one step ahead of his fiancee, Miss Adelaide, who wants to get him to actually marry her after a decade-long engagement and is also trying to set him on the straight and narrow path.



Tommy Tune Awards at Hobby Center 2004