sadie_hawkinsLi’l Abner is a musical with a book by Norman Panama and Melvin Frank, music by Gene De Paul, and lyrics by Johnny Mercer. Based on the comic strip Li’l Abner by Al Capp, the show is, on the surface, a broad spoof of hillbillies, but it is also a pointed satire on broader topics, ranging from incompetence in the United States federal government to standards of masculinity.

Act I – Overture, A Typical Day, If I Had My Druthers, If I Had My Druthers (reprise), Jubilation T. Cornpone, Jubilation T. Cornpone (encore), Rag Off’n The Bush, Dogpatch Dance, Namely You, Unnecessary Town, What’s Good For General Bullmoose, There’s Room Enough For Us, The Country’s In The Very Best Of Hands, The Country’s In The Very Best Of Hands (encore), Sadie Hawkins Ballet

Act I – Entr’acte, Oh, Happy Day, I’m Past My Prime, Love In A Home, Progress Is The Root Of All Evil, In Society, Progress Is The Root Of All Evil (reprise), Put ’em Back, Namely You (reprise), The Matrimonial Stomp, Put ‘Em Back (reprise), The Matrimonial Stomp (reprise), Jubilation T. Cornpone (Finale)

LI’L ABNER was a popular comic strip that appeared in American News Papers from 1934-1977 and was read at its peak by 60,000,000 people daily. The tale of hillbilly Li’l Abner and his sweet, long suffering girlfriend Daisy Mae was brought to life on Broadway when it originally opened in 1956. The Play takes place in Dogpatch, U.S.A a very small southern town. The husbands of Dogpatch who are otherwise “lean & lanky” volunteer to drink the Yokum Miracle Drug, Yokum Berry Tonic. The Husbands are transformed and beautified into Muscular good-lookinh men. Although excited about their husbands new looks, the wives are disappointed to find that their men no longer have interest in them. They want them turned back!



2005 Tommy Tune Awards at the Hobby Center